Steam-ed Up

I bought Borderlands over the weekend via Steam seeing as it got decent reviews and was on a 50% off special. I promptly sauntered off to my brother’s place to make use (or abuse?) his recently gained uncapped ADSL and after a few hours and some frustration had the game downloaded and running. By this time it was nearing 1:00 in the morning so I packed up my machine and headed home thinking that I’d have a nice day ploughing through Borderlands the following day. Wrong!

I spent the majority of my time trying to figure out why my other games were working, but Borderlands did not. An irritating dialogue kept popping up to inform me that “This game is not currently available. Please try again later.” Thank you, I can see that. Tell me why?

So I did what everyone with a decent Internet connection would do – Google it. This led to me restarting Steam more times than should be required in most lifetimes, restarting my PC a few times, renaming files and folders and forcing it to re-update, switching back and forth between online and offline mode, starting the game straight from the .exe, and various other random ideas to fool Steam into thinking it isn’t broken. Out of desperation I decided to message the Steam help guys to see if they could do anything, but they seemed to be on holiday (Fair enough, but still Grrrrr!).

Today I decided to see if some little forum post somewhere couldn’t help me out and there it was: “Also, this error can be caused by having certain Steam files set to Read Only.”. Seriously? The wrong files have set themselves to Read-Only and that’s the problem? No jokes, it worked. The game worked when it was first installed and it seems that during transportation I somehow magically flipped the Read-Only bit and the game stopped working.

Here’s an idea though, write some decent error messages. I’m not saying they have to be perfect, but something more descriptive than “This game is currently unavailable” would be great, earth shattering even.

Oh, right, there’s a nice list here (accessed on 07/04/2010 at 21:26 GMT+2) of possible fixes if you’re having the same problem. Otherwise, call Ghost Busters.

[UPDATE] The Steam help guy finally mailed me. An hour after I fixed the problem myself. He was roughly as useful as a tractor without wheels in quicksand.

About HawkiesZA

about.me/hawkiesza
This entry was posted in Malfunctions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

