Game Review: Avatar – The Game (Demo)

Before my PC decided to uproot and happily maul parts of itself (mainly the network port, most of the sound card and my games drive), I managed to at least play through the demo of Avatar – the game based on the movie of the same name.

Now being the techno-geek that I am, I couldn’t not go and see the graphical genius that is Avatar and even though I know that games based on movies invariably turn out to be the biggest pile of … – Well you get the idea – I tried out the demo for Avatar.

Initially I had to turn down the graphics as it seems that my machine is aging faster than what I would have hoped and even Medium settings on 1280 x 1024 with no Anti-aliasing was enough to render barely more than a slide show. Even on low settings though, the environmental graphics are quite good – nothing spectacular, but passable at least. The effects and such did leave a lot be desired and all in all it did not leave a good starting impression.

In the demo you get to play as some random marine running around in the enormous forest filled with towering trees. Now after having seen the movie, a marine is probably the last thing I would have liked to play. A bunch of manly-men running around, saying: “Lets go shoot up an alien race so that we can ruin their planet like we did to ours!”, “Hells, yeah! Oorah!” – is not exactly the picture of the hero in the story. You stumble around shooting up everything from forest fauna and wildlife to the native Navi, trying to restore some outpost to a serviceable state.

I’ll be honest, I was bored within ten minutes. With decent titles out there like Dragon Age: Origins, Modern Warfare 2 and Borderlands, don’t bother yourself with Avatar.

About HawkiesZA

about.me/hawkiesza
This entry was posted in Reviews: Games. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

